First dance song…or songs?

My man knows how to cut a rug.  Sadly, I simply stand on it. I’m a wallflower at best.  But I will be the first to admit that I don’t mind grooving with G. He makes me look good and feel beautiful. We’ve been thinking of some first song choices and here’s what we came up with so far:

  • Al Green – “L-O-V-E”- You can’t go wrong with Al Green.
  • Sam Cooke-  “You Send Me”- Love me some Sam. Love. Me. Some. Sam. Also, we think the song would be fun to play around with.
  • Etta James- “If I can’t have you”- One of the *first* songs that I heard that reminds me of Greg when I listen to it.
  • Ray LaMontagne – “You are the best thing”-Very fun but I’m afraid it may become too trendy this wedding season. And I kinda don’t want to have the same first song as nearly every 2009 bride out there. No offense.
  • Seth Walker-“Steady”- G. took me to see Seth on our second date. “Steady” happens to be one of the more “happier” songs of his.
  • Ingrid Michaelson-“The Way I am”- It’s an us song but I’m afraid it won’t be easy to dance to. Hmm…
  • Feist-“1,2,3,4”- Same as above.

So we haven’t come to a decision. G. might just do a medley of two or three and we can work it from there.

The father/daughter song selection may be a bit tricky. I’d love to dance a salsa with my Papí but I can’t seem to find a salsa version of “Mí Nina Boñita” that I can buy. I might have to settle for “Isn’t She Lovely” by Stevie Wonder. Luckily I have a few months before I have to decide.

3 Comments

Filed under planning, reception

3 responses to “First dance song…or songs?

  1. Danny

    This is out of left field but why not choose a silly song as your first dance. Something fun and upbeat like the wedding scene with Robert and Amy from Everybody Loves Raymond where they danced to the Junkie XL Remix of A Little Less Conversation?

  2. Lindsay Beeson

    I have adorable, sweet images running around in my head after reading this.

    You guys are clearly setting us up for a very memorable night 🙂

Leave a Reply

